Collaborators

Chromatic keeps track of UI feedback and tests in one place so that collaborators stays aligned without you having to do extra work.

Organization collaborators

Chromatic mirrors access permissions with your GitHub Organization, Bitbucket Group, or GitLab Team. Users who have access to your organization will also have access to your Chromatic organization.

Permission level What collaborators can do
Organization: member View / change account settings, view / add projects

Organization collaborators can manage billing and account status but may not have access to projects. You need to be a project collaborator to view and manage projects.

Go to your organization’s Settings page to view collaborators.

Settings page collaborators

Email and password accounts don't have the concept of organization-level collaborators.

Project collaborators

Chromatic syncs access permissions with your GitHub, Bitbucket, or GitLab repository. Users who have access to your code will also have access to your project.

Permission level What collaborators can do
Repo: read View project, auto-assigned the Viewer role
Repo: write Review and manage project, auto-assigned the Developer role
If your project is hosted in Bitbucket, ensure that you and your team members have the contributor role.

Project collaborators can view and manage the project based on their role. Go to your project’s Manage page to view collaborators and assign roles.

Project collaborators

You can add or remove a collaborator by adjusting their access in your Git repository. The permission changes in your upstream repository are mirrored downstream in Chromatic.

Manually override the mirrored permissions by adjusting collaborator roles or inviting external collaborators on an ad hoc basis.

Project manage page collaborators

If you signed up via email and password, Chromatic won’t have a Git repo to sync with. You’ll need to manage project collaborators manually via external collaborators below.

External collaborators

Projects can also have external collaborators. These are stakeholders like PMs, designers, and consultants who don’t commit code but contribute to the sign off process. They can also be fellow developers who don’t have repo access or use a different Git provider.

External collaborators are added and removed manually. Once they create an account, they’ll get access to your project. There are two ways to add collaborators:

  • Invite link: Share a URL with stakeholders. They are auto-assigned a developer role.
  • Invite email: Send individual invites via email. You can fine tune roles before sending.

Project manage page external collaborators

Roles

Roles give you fine-grained control over who can do what. There are four roles that can be assigned to any collaborator.

Each project has a unique set of roles that are managed by the project owner. For example, you can be an “developer” in one project and a “viewer” in another.

Role What you can do
Owner Can manage, delete the project, and manage/assign roles to collaborators.
Developer (default) Can manage the project, review tests, approve PRs, and assign reviewers. Cannot assign roles to collaborators.
Reviewer Can leave comments, review tests, and approve PRs they’re assigned to. Cannot assign others or self-approve.
Viewer Read-only access to the project.

Project ownership

Projects must have at least one owner. The owner role is automatically assigned to the first user in a Chromatic project.

Transfer ownership by assigning another collaborator as an owner and then reassigning yourself another role.

View your role

Go to your project’s Manage page to view your role and it’s capabilities.

Project manage page your role

Roles for open source projects

Open source projects are viewable to all users even if they’re not listed as a collaborator or have a Chromatic account. But in order to manage or review the open source project, collaborators must have explicit access and the corresponding role.

Visibility

By default, published Storybooks on Chromatic are private. They can only be accessed by collaborators who are signed in to Chromatic and have permission to view components and builds.

When you set Storybook visibility to public, it will be accessible to visitors without signing in. Anyone with a link can access. Your Chromatic library, tests, and settings will remain private.

Project manage page Storybook visibility


Troubleshooting

Why can't my teammates access a project?

Chromatic syncs permissions at the account and repo level. Check that your teammates are listed as collaborators in your GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket repository.

If they aren’t listed, please add them and try accessing the Chromatic project again (you may have to sign in again). Learn more about access control.